• HofH-Help-Wanted-Banner
  • HofH-Help-Wanted-Banner1-5
  • HofH-Help-Wanted-Banner2
  • HofH-Help-Wanted-Banner3
  • HofH-Help-Wanted-Banner4
  • HofH-Help-Wanted-Banner5
  • HofH-Help-Wanted-Banner6
  • HofH-Help-Wanted-Banner7

Piedmont wrestlers collect postseason accolades

Blake Colston

The Suburban Conference wrestling coaches announced their postseason award recipients on Monday, with 10 Piedmont wrestlers receiving recognition.

182-pound state champion Brody Largent was named to the first-team roster along with 113-pound teammate and state placer Logan Chappell. Senior Michael Lopez, a state placer this season, also landed on the first team.

Largent finished the season by defeating Shawnee’s Thomas Shepard, 3-2, in overtime to claim his first state championship. He finished the season with a 43-5 record.

In addition to Chappell’s first team selection, the freshman also garnered Newcomer of the Year honors after capping off his first varsity season with a 34-16 record and a fourth place finish at state.

Senior state qualifier Francisco Lopez and 132-pound junior Alex Cardenas were named to the Suburban Conference second team. As a senior, Lopez went 38-10.

Dylan Meador, Michael Brown, Chance Krumsiek, Ariz Mazroy and Tyler Banks were named third team all-conference.

The Wildcats finished seventh as a team at the 5A state tournament.

© 2012-2017 piedmontnewsonline.com All Rights Reserved